Support Center

Managing Opt Outs

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2015 03:19PM AEDT
If you are running public campaigns, Opt Out management is an important part of complying with relevant codes of practice for electronic marketing. SMSGlobal has a number of tools available to assist in managing customer responses to ease the process of managing customers who chose to Opt Out from future campaigns.
 
Enabling automatic Opt Out management
 
Opt Out management is found under your account settings. Click Tools, then Settings, from the left-hand menu. Scroll down to the section titled Opt Outs.


Selecting Automatically delete Opt Outs from Contacts will delete a contact that replies to your message from your stored Contacts and prevent any future messages being sent to the same user. If you also select Recipient Opt Out removes user from all groups?, every instance of that mobile number will be removed from all of your contact groups. Please note that selecting Recipient Opt Out removes users from all groups will not take effect unless Automatically delete Opt Outs from Contacts has also been switched on.

Selecting Enforce Global Optouts will ensure that numbers who reply STOP will be fully opted out and will not be re-uploaded if a new contact file contains a previously opted-out number.

Once you have changed your Opt Out settings, scroll to the bottom of the settings page and click Update Settings to confirm your changes.

Any numbers that have been opted out will appear as Invalid Numbers in the MXT platform.

If you are sending a campaign to an uploaded file that contains numbers that have previously opted out of receiving SMS, the total number of recipients will exclude any opted out numbers.

Resetting and importing contacts that have Opted Out 


When you use the Import Contacts feature under Contacts > Import, there is an option that reads Reset contacts that have previously opted out? If left unchecked/disabled, SMSGlobal will ignore any numbers you upload which have previously Opted Out. This prevents messages from being accidentally sent to users that have already Opted Out from future messages. 
If this option is selected, any numbers that have previously opted out may be re-imported into your contact groups.

Manual Opt Out management

MXT now includes a dedicated Opt Out Manager tool, allowing you to upload a list of numbers directly to your opt out list. A guide on how to do this can be found here

If you are managing an offline database, it is always possible to manage Opt Outs manually by generating an Incoming report. Export your report by clicking on Reports > Incoming, and then clicking on the export format of your choice (.csv, .xls, .pdf, or .tab).

Contact Us

desk@smsglobal.local
http://assets2.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete